My awesome summer reading list

One of my favourite Summer activities is reading. During the year I try to read as much as I can, but there are always novels that are added to my “want to read, but have no fucking time” list and this pile of postponed “to read” books keeps expanding. I love making lists, but crossing off items on these lists feels even better (a bit neurotic, I know). That is why each summer I try to make a feasible list with AWESOME books I should read. Of course this list keeps getting bigger and bigger, and summer busier and busier (hello master’s thesis, hello friends, hello birthday, etc.). I will share with you my “awesome must read summer list” here in the hope that by sharing it, it will become more realistic. The two first books I’ve already read, before sharing my list on my blog (I’m too fast…but don’t worry, summer had already started when I read them).

Mary by Vladimir Nabokov

Already finished it! Loved it (check out my review). I also read Lolita and The Enchanter by Nabokov and now that I’ve read three works by him I can call myself a fan.

On the Road by Jack Kerouac

I already finished this one, and was impressed (check also my review of this novel!)

Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

I secretly already started reading this one as well (I’m on page 100 now), but summer has definitely started (TOO HOT TO WORK ON MY THESIS) so that’s okay.

Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

I’m curious about the impact this will have on my eating habits…

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Classic: must read! And also because of the movie that will be released soon.

Magnetism by F. Scott Fitzgerald

It was included in the Great Loves series by Penguin and I do love me some love prose.

Forbidden Fruit from the letters of Abelard and Heloise

The same counts for this one, plus this legendary affair must be interesting.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Classic: must read!

Any novel by Simone de Beauvoir

I’ve already read L’invitée and I loved it. Recommendations?

Any novel by Anaïs Nin

I once started reading her diary, but I was quite young, and I don’t remember if I finished it. Maybe this summer will be the summer I read an Anaïs Nin novel?

2 thoughts on “My awesome summer reading list

Leave a Reply

